Printer Friendly Version
Email this thread to a friend
|
Featured Web Site Template |
|
Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
|
|
| Member |
Message |
Curt
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 3747
|
Posted: 2004-May-12 23:29
I read in another thread on another board this comment:
Whatever you do don't purchase from adbuytraffic.com or trafficspecials.com. You will never see a visitor from those click on anything on your page. We resold hundreds for them and received nothing but negative feedback and have seen it ourselves. This leads me to believe they load up traffic via hidden frames or some other misleading tactic where the visitor never sees the page.
The reason I ask is because a client of mine is asking me about this company and their program. Personally, I don't trust ad companies that buy up old domains and then redirect the traffic the old domains already have to the advertiser because they don't disclose whether or not they use cloaking pages or junk doorway pages to run their services. Such a service could be looked at as search engine spam and the engines could penalize the site associated with it. I'd like to know what anyone else thinks about this scheme. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
|
 |
Dan Grossman
Joined: Mar 04, 2004
# Posts: 3
|
Posted: 2004-May-14 04:18
I have tested their service extensively and it's definitely not what they say it is. Their provider, TrafficBridge/iSynapse (tracing their IPs up through the scripts) doesn't even offer categories, yet they sell over 100 "categories" of "targeting". The actual sites shown are layered on top of eachother so you cant see more than a portion of the site behind the one on top, which is why nobody ever browses the sites... they would never browse these sites layered on top of eachother in "ad viewer" windows.
|
 |
Curt
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 3747
|
Posted: 2004-May-14 22:02
thanks much!
What was particularly suspicious is that they will not show an example to see it in action which raises red flags for me. It basically tells me that they do not want me to confirm anything and just "trust" them that they won't do something that is a violation of the engines.
|
 |
northyorkshire
Joined: May 27, 2004
# Posts: 1
|
Posted: 2004-May-28 00:42
My experience of adbuytraffic has also been very bad. DO NOT USE them at any cost unless you want to waste your money. All they sent me was really poor traffic. I can understand why it was poor after reasding the above comments. The customer service was terrible. They ignored all my emails and would not even answer my voice messages. I am going to seek a full refund via my bank for this fraud. All I got from this so called traffic company was a bill for the increased bandwidth used.
|
 |
successco
Joined: May 13, 2004
# Posts: 26
|
Posted: 2004-May-28 22:52
I ran across this topic browsing active topics today, so I looked at the adbuytraffic site. Now am wondering... are there are any recommendations for a "good" version of what adbuytraffic does? (EDIT: or trafficspecials)
|
 |
peteparell
Joined: Mar 04, 2005
# Posts: 1
|
Posted: 2005-Mar-04 23:40
I have used traffic4website.com which seems to work in similar way, and although my bandwidth has increased a lot and did not get much more sales, I must say, that I have noticed huge increase in people adding my page to their favourites. I can understand that, as when visitors come accross site they didn't requested as such, it may just stick in their mind for the future - it's called branding isn't it?
So, overall - you cannot get as much as they claim you could, but I think I got what I paid for!
|
 |
hfgeorge
Joined: Apr 19, 2005
# Posts: 5
|
Posted: 2005-Apr-20 18:25
I used a similar program -- trafficswarm -- and got an impressive 100% bounce rate. Nodody stayed on the page for more than one second. My programmer was convinced that the "visitors" were pageviews being "seen" by some sort of robo-surfer on a server somewhere rather than real people.
But even if they were real people, I got a ROI of 0. Which is easy to measure, but hard to explain to a client.
|
 |
You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
- You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
- You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
- This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.
If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please
check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions
contained within.
If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.
|
If you are still experiencing problem, please read the
Login Assistance
Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.
|
Switch to Advanced Editor and ...
Create a New Topic
or Reply to this Thread
|
|