Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend
  • looking for free hosting site (In: I Want to Sell My Website)
  • Hosting in different Country (In: General Search Engine Optimization)
  • Featured Web Site Template

    Hundreds More at Free Site Templates.com!

    Web Site Partners
    Sponsored Links
    Jet City Software
     
    Whos Here ?
    Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
    Moderator(s): yellowwing
    Member Message

    moverworldwide
    Joined: Mar 01, 2006
    # Posts: 35

    View the profile for moverworldwide Send moverworldwide a private message

    Posted: 2006-Jul-20 03:36
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I am sorry for the long thread, but i need to explain it clearly for you to understand what yahoo is doing.

    I registered a domain with yahoo and hosting about two months back. when i signed up for the hosting plan they offered me $50 google adword credit and $100 yahoo search credit. I could not get both because no way i can sign up for the yahoo search and no options on the site to get google adword credit.

    I have all the emails correspondance with me, if anyone interested i can post here to prove that the the support staff at yahoo is not aware / have not seen their site page for customers who signup for hosting.

    i made 6 international calls from singapore to US each lasting more than 20 minuts of waiting and useless talks as they are not aware what they are talking. I called billing and they said they are not responsible, it is the payment department. called payment department and they said they are not yahoo??? they are merchant bank, called again billing and they transfered to payment and again the same answer..... then called webhosting they asked to call billing and so on ...on.

    inbetween i send many mails for some of them i received reply asking me to call billing ...etc. finally when i wrote i am going legally some called me to help me to setup yahoo search account. she tried with me many ways...and finally gave up asking me to send them the screenshot of error message. she also said it is yahoo and google is our competitor...there is no way we offer google adword credit.... i have a screenshot from yahoo site when i signedup, where they offered $50 google adword credit!!!.

    I send all the screen shots few times within last 9 days after talking to the support staff, but no response from them till now.

    I had an offer of $14.96 for 6 months when I signed up, and they have deducted accordingly for the last two months. Now I see that they are going to deduct 19.95 for the next month!!!! If this is not cheeting the customer what else do you call this?

    I am just sharing this to see whether anyone else had this kind of experience with yahoo ....when i talked to some other people they said they had similar experience ..but no time to waist after that...one said if we complain they may ban our site...etc..i am not bothered about all that..i wanted to get this out to the public as yahoo is not bothered to answer, so that no one else should fall in to the trap.

    [ Message was edited by: bhartzer 07/23/2006 03:09 pm ]





    flyingrose
    Staff
    Joined: Oct 30, 2003
    # Posts: 3361

    View the profile for flyingrose Send flyingrose a private message

    Posted: 2006-Jul-23 00:11
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I would be somewhat surprised to see Yahoo offer a Google Adwords credit so my first thought is that you may not have actually signed up with Yahoo directly. Perhaps you signed up with another company?

    Do you have the url of the page where you originally saw this offer?



    moverworldwide
    Joined: Mar 01, 2006
    # Posts: 35

    View the profile for moverworldwide Send moverworldwide a private message

    Posted: 2006-Jul-23 02:27
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Here is the link.

    [link]

    scroll it down to Exclusive Marketing Discounts where it is still available - the $100 yahoo search marketing and $50 google adword credit for the hosting plan I signed up.

    Correct me if the above link is not from YAHOO




    flyingrose
    Staff
    Joined: Oct 30, 2003
    # Posts: 3361

    View the profile for flyingrose Send flyingrose a private message

    Posted: 2006-Jul-23 22:50
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    It does look like an official Yahoo site and I do see the Google credit on that page. I don't see a $14.96 special offer but that could have been changed recently.

    If your contract was for $14.96 for six months I would hope they wouldn't charge more if their rates change until that six months has passed. Why do you believe they're going to charge you more next month?

    The challenge with dealing with any large online company is getting the assistance of a live human, especially when you're just getting started. In order to keep costs down they are usually not reachable and/or may not be overly helpful when you do reach them.

    I do not see any way to request the Yahoo! Search Marketing or Google Adwords credits detailed on the offering pages. Be sure to thoroughly look at all the information you can access when you log in and search for those items.

    Most likely there is a process to go through to open these accounts and request your credits but you have to find it and do it yourself. The way those offers usually work is that you click on a specific link and that tells the system to give you the credit.

    I would expect the link to take you to where you open the account BUT you probably won't get the credit instantly. On the affiliate links I've been provided for opening accounts at Yahoo new accounts do get the credit but it may take several days to show up in the account.

    When you've called Yahoo have you used the phone number on the page from the offer and not some other Yahoo number? Yahoo is a very large company and only those familiar with a particular program will have the answers you need.

    Look around in your account and see if you can find anything. Then let us know if you are making progress or are still stuck.



    moverworldwide
    Joined: Mar 01, 2006
    # Posts: 35

    View the profile for moverworldwide Send moverworldwide a private message

    Posted: 2006-Jul-25 04:59
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    If your contract was for $14.96 for six months I would hope they wouldn't charge more if their rates change until that six months has passed. Why do you believe they're going to charge you more next month?

    Ans: in my account it shows last two months charged at $14.95 and next due date and chargeble amont as 19.95

    They have the link at their site when i login for the yahoo credit of $100, but the system does not allow me to signup - it shows the pin number format is not acceptable. when i was with the support staff on line to signup she gave a format for pin number and it worked, but then pop up another error saaying not successful-but no message, and support staff promissed she will get back the next day after checking, but never came back and when i called them they are still not aware!!!


    You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
    1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
    2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
    3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

    If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

    If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

    If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

    Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread

    New posts Forum is locked
    © 1995  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions